Private Music Instruction Directory

    The Rochester Music Guild maintains this list of private music instructors as a community service. Teachers are listed by request only. If there is a listing error or if you are a teacher and would like to be listed, please contact DeAnn Spencer at directories@rochestermusicguild.org | 507-271-4227. Music stores & music studios offering lessons are listed at the bottom of this page.

    BASS (Upright Bass)
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Blake Bonde Classical: All Levels (Electric or Jazz: Beg – HS/Adv) Rochester 612-963-6948 doublybassicb@gmail.com
    Robert Gardner Beg – Adv, Acoustic & Electric Bass Rochester 507-259-0630 poverellop@earthlink.net
    Stephen Pelkey Beg – Int Rochester 816-509-1483 knechtpelkey@gmail.com
    Michael Sloane Beg – HS, All styles Pine Island 507-356-2022 misloane@outlook.com

    BASSOON
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Ranveer Vasdev All levels and ages Rochester 507-250-1451 ranveer.vasdev@gmail.com
    Angie Whitcomb Beg – Adv Rochester, Chatfield 507-358-6218 AngelaBWhitcomb@gmail.com

    CELLO
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Sarah Burrington Beg – Int (including adults) Rochester 507-254-2221 sarahburrington@hotmail.com
    Amy Crockett All ages: Beg – Int Rochester 507-287-1881 crockettsae@Hotmail.com
    Carolyn Mead Ages 4-adult, all levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester 507-292-5975 cmead5975@gmail.com
    Stephen Pelkey All levels Rochester 816-509-1483 knechtpelkey@gmail.com
    Hong Wang All levels Rochester, Twin Cities 763-772-0608 hongwangcello@gmail.com

    CLARINET
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Karen K. Hansen All levels St. Paul 612-710-2715 clarinet@karenkhansen.com
    David O’Mara All levels Rochester, Stewartville 507-358-8279 omara.diane@mayo.edu
    Amanda Peloquin Beg – Adv Rochester 715-225-7973 ampeloquin@gmail.com
    Diane Shopteau All ages & levels Rochester 507-226-5972 Tootflute@aol.com

    COMPOSITION
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Brian Dunbar HS – Adv Rochester 507-319-6613 bdunbar2016@gmail.com
    David Kassler High School Rochester 507-281-3253 Davidkassler7@gmail.com

    FLUTE
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Cathy Arhelger Flute/Piccolo: Beg – College Rochester 507-319-7598 cathy@rochesteracademyofmusic.com
    Emily Bodensteiner All ages & levels Rochester 507-398-2136 emilyann132@gmail.com
    Amanda Peloquin All levels: Beg – Adv Rochester 715-225-7973 ampeloquin@gmail.com
    Laurie Priniski Beg – Adv Rochester 507-282-8656 lapriniski@gmail.com
    Irissa Ryant Flute/Piccolo: All levels & ages -Suzuki & Traditional Rochester 507-250-5737 irissajo@gmail.com
    Tessa Sawchuk All levels, all ages Rochester 507-884-7534 sawchuk@live.com
    Diane Shopteau All ages & levels Rochester 507-226-5972 Tootflute@aol.com
    Amy Unseth Flute/Piccolo: Beg – College Rochester 507-993-9538 fluteteacheramy@gmail.com

    FRENCH HORN
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Corey Henke Beg – College Rochester 507-696-2023 chhornstudio@gmail.com
    Shawn Kennedy-Lee Beg – HS Lewiston 507-313-1908 skennedylee@hotmail.com

    GUITAR
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Robert Gardner Beg – Adv Rochester 507-259-0630 poverellop@earthlink.net
    Kerry Klungtvedt Suzuki guitar, classical, jazz & blues, ages 3 – adult Rushford maestro@goodguitarlessons.com
    Lisa Pollei Guitar/Ukulele: Beg., all ages Rochester 507-280-4218 lpollei@earthlink.net
    Karen A. Nelson Welsh Beg: individual & group lessons Byron, Rochester 507-775-2226 MaplefordStudiollc@gmail.com

    HARP
    Brock Besse All ages: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-318-0801 bbesse@charter.net
    Mary Schneekloth Suzuki and traditional Rochester 507-282-6474 maryschneekloth@yahoo.com

    OBOE
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Brock Besse All ages: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-318-0801 bbesse@charter.net

    ORGAN
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Lee Afdahl Beg – Adv Rochester 507-282-1618 afdahl.lee@fpcrochester.org
    Brock Besse All ages: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-318-0801 bbesse@charter.net
    Karen Brekke Beg – Adv Byron 507-775-6339 eskyblue@msn.com

    PERCUSSION
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Scott Kovar Band & orchestra: Beg – Adv, ages 10 & older Rochester 507-285-4458 wskovar@gmail.com
    Scott Ollhoff Beginner-Advanced Rochester 507-281-5410 saollhoff@charter.net
    Ryan Utterback All Levels Rochester 507-258-5432 ryan@purerockstudiosmn.com
    Jeffrey Vigness Percussion, Drumset Lakeville 612-306-0566 jeff@vignessmusic.com

    PIANO
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Zoe Ann Abrahamson All ages & levels Rochester 507-285-0611 zoeannabrahamson@hotmail.com
    Christopher Alexander Beg – Int Rochester 507-281-5991 gotmusic529@gmail.com
    Barbara Bartleson All ages & levels, (Suzuki Method) Rochester 507-286-9230 bwbartleson@gmail.com
    Ruth Benning Beg – Adv Rochester 507-281-4292 benningcr@juno.com
    David Beyer Jazz Piano – All ages & levels Rochester 507-535-9055 dbeyer1@berklee.edu
    Karen Brekke Beg – Adv Byron 507-775-6339 eskyblue@msn.com
    Sarah Carter-Sweatte Ages 5+, beginning to intermediate Rochester 507-215-4443 mrs.s.robichaud@gmail.com
    Colleen Clegg Beg–Int, standard & improv Rochester 507-289-3913 cdcmusic@aol.com
    Kristen Donovan Beg – Late Int, children & adults Zumbrota 507-732-5292 kdonovan514@gmail.com
    Brian Dunbar All ages and levels Rochester 507-319-6613 bdunbar2016@gmail.com
    Marta Fisk All ages & levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester, Wabasha 651-764-2219 martafisk@hotmail.com
    Beth Haaland Beg – 8th grade Byron 507-775-6820 b.h2aland@gmail.com
    Michelle Harris Beg – Late Int Rochester 507-292-9391 richandmichelleh@juno.com
    Laurie Helmers All levels Stewartville 507-533-8265 helmers.laurie@gmail.com
    Kathryn Horntvedt All levels & ages Rochester 507-206-0521 khorntvedt@gmail.com
    Jan Kvam Beg – Int Rochester 507-271-3091 rkvam@charter.net
    Edna Mezacapa Beginners Rochester 507-288-6259 musicmez@yahoo.com
    Sara Monson Beg – Adv, classical or contemporary Rochester, Stewartville, Racine 507-358-1354 sarahmonsonmusic@gmail.com
    Glenna Muir All ages & levels Rochester 507-252-9051 stracci64@aol.com
    Dr. Horacio Nuguid Grades 9 – 12: Int – Adv Rochester 507-271-3742 horacionuguid@gmail.com
    Rosanna Nuguid Pre-K to Grade 8: All levels Rochester 507-271-3914 rosannanuguid@gmail.com
    Ann Peter Beg – Int, thru High School Rochester 507-281-4688 aepeter22@gmail.com
    Jane Peterson Int – Adv Cannon Falls 507-263-4148 janerichard@mchsi.com
    Lisa Pollei All ages & levels Rochester 507.280.4218 lpollei@earthlink.net
    Jennifer Popp Beg – Late Int Rochester 507-280-9451 jppianolady@gmail.com
    Laurie Priniski Beg – Adv Rochester 507-282-8656 lapriniski@gmail.com
    Dorothy Sandquist Beg – Early Adv Rochester 507-289-1476 dsandquist@webtv.net
    Tessa Sawchuk All levels, all ages Rochester 507-884-7534 sawchuk@live.com
    Dr. David Shaffer-Gottschalk Int – Adv Classical, including adults Rochester 804-721-1577 shafgottpiano@hotmail.com
    Sarah Goodman Strobl Ages 5-18: Beg – Adv Byron 507-261-0633 goodmanproductions@gmail.com
    Teresa Tolmie K-12, all levels Rochester 507-273-9499 Teresa@TolmiePiano.com
    Diane Toogood All ages & levels Rochester 507-289-6644 dianetoogood@charter.net
    June Torrison Beg – Adv LeRoy 507-324-5463 torrison@mchsi.com
    Ainhoa Urkijo Int – Adv, all ages Rochester 507-261-2069 urkijo10@hotmail.com
    Basia VanderZanden All ages & levels Rochester, St. Charles 507-458-8142 basiavanderzanden@gmail.com
    Karen Vinje All ages & levels Rochester 507-288-0973 klvinje@charter.net
    Karen A. Nelson Welsh Beg – early Adv, all ages, group & private Byron, Rochester 507-775-2226 MaplefordStudiollc@gmail.com

    SAXOPHONE
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Dr. Dwight L. Jennings All levels Rochester 507-280-8633 DJenni8703@aol.com
    David O’Mara All levels Rochester, Stewartville 507-358-8279 omara.diane@mayo.edu
    Amanda Peloquin Beg – Adv Rochester 715-225-7973 ampeloquin@gmail.com
    Jennifer Popp Beginners Rochester 507-280-9451 jppianolady@gmail.com
    Diane Shopteau All ages & levels Rochester 507-226-5972 Tootflute@aol.com
    Angie Whitcomb Beg – Int Rochester, Chatfield 507-358-6218 AngelaBWhitcomb@gmail.com

    TROMBONE
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Matt Hafar Trombone/Brass: all ages Rochester 507-536-5605 matt.hafar@rctc.edu
    David Kassler Trombone: all levels & ages Rochester 507-281-3253 Davidkassler7@gmail.com
    John Sievers Trombone: all ages Rochester 507-288-0590 siev0044@umn.edu

    TRUMPET
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Warren Bandel All levels & ages Rochester 507-271-9911 trumpetone@charter.net
    Ellis Workman Trumpet/Cornet – all levels Rochester 507-285-9707 EllisLWorkman@gmail.com

    TUBA/EUPHONIUM
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    David Kassler All levels & ages Rochester 507-281-3253 Davidkassler7@gmail.com
    Mark Woeste All levels Mantorville 507-635-5011 dwoeste@kmtel.com

    VIOLIN/VIOLA
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    David Beyer All ages & levels Rochester 507-535-9055 dbeyer1@berklee.edu
    James Buchan Violin/viola, chamber music, conducting Rochester 507-208-4145 buchanhk@hotmail.com
    Angel Falu-Garcia Violin/viola – all levels Suzuki and Traditional Rochester 787-235-1890 afaluviolinstudio@gmail.com
    Laura Geissler Violin: Beg-Int, Ages 4-middle school (Suzuki Method) Northfield 612-325-2766 lgeissler.lg@gmail.com
    Charles Gray Violin/viola: Inter-Adv, middle school-college Northfield 612-598-2167 gray@stolaf.edu
    Kathleen Lamb Violin/Viola: ages 3-18, all levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester 715-307-3822 klambviolin@gmail.com
    Kristina Lantz Violin/Viola: all levels and all ages Rochester 612-801-4282 kristinajlantz@gmail.com
    Riddhiman (Shub) Moharar Viola: Beg – High School Rochester 319-573-8845 rmoharar@gmail.com
    Sarah Myhro Violin: Ages 5-adult, Beg – Int (classical, fiddle, gospel, ukulele) Rochester 507-280-9824 samyhro19@gmail.com
    Nancy Oliveros Violin & chamber music, high school & college age West St. Paul 651-238-4945 nancy@artaria.us
    Stephen Pelkey Violin/Viola: Beg – Int Rochester 816-509-1483 knechtpelkey@gmail.com
    Kailey Peterson Violin – Beginners ages 5-12/td>

    Byron 507-254-9229 peterson.kaileyliz@gmail.com
    Lisa Pollei All ages & levels Rochester 507-280-4218 lpollei@earthlink.net
    Sarah Rusin Violin/viola: all ages & levels, traditional & Suzuki Rochester 815-505-0345 sacrusin@gmail.com
    Ray Shows Violin & chamber music, high school & college age West St. Paul 651-587-7595 shows@stolaf.edu
    DeAnn Spencer Violin: ages 3-18, all levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester 507-285-0970 deann.spencer@gmail.com
    Linda Thompson Violin/viola: ages 3-18, all levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester  507-289-4575 lindakwthompson@gmail.com
    Julie Workman Violin/viola: All levels Rochester 507-285-9707 julie.workman.jlg@gmail.com

    VOICE
    Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
    Pat Anderson Ages 13 and up Rochester 507-281-5934 musicmaker1247@gmail.com
    Kimberly Collins Beg–Int/Adv, Ages 10-adult Rochester 507-254-9064 kcvoicelessons@gmail.com
    Kristen Donovan Ages 7-18 Zumbrota 507-732-5292 kdonovan514@gmail.com
    Carla Thelen Hanson Int – Adv Rochester 507-990-2854 carla.thelen.hanson@gmail.com
    Laurie Helmers All levels Stewartville 507-533-8265 helmers.laurie@gmail.com
    David Kassler Ages 13 & up: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-281-3253 Davidkassler7@gmail.com
    Connie Maragos 9th grade & older Rochester 507-288-3379 nmcm55@gmail.com
    Laura Matern Classical voice; Beg – Adv Rochester 507-536-7097 matern@charter.net
    Leslie Meyer Ages 13 & up: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-398-8901 canta79@hotmail.com
    Sarah Goodman Strobl Ages 5-18: Beg – Adv Byron 507-261-0633 goodmanproductions@gmail.com
    Diane Toogood All ages & levels Rochester 507-289-6644 dianetoogood@charter.net
    Karen A. Nelson Welsh Age 5-18 Beg-Int – Ind & Group Byron, Rochester 507-775-2226 MaplefordStudiollc@gmail.com

    MUSIC STORES & STUDIOS
    Name Music Instruction City Phone Website
    All Things Musik:
    Music Lessons in Your Home

    Piano Rochester 507-263-1717 www.allthingsmusik.com
    Allegro School of Dance & Music

    Brass, guitar, piano,
    voice, woodwinds

    Rochester 507-288-0125 www.AllegroDanceMusic.com
    Avalon Music Inc.

    Bass, guitar, piano, woodwinds Rochester 507-288-6311 www.avalonmusicinc.com
    Hoffman Madsen Music Studio

    Piano instruction(11 teachers) Rochester 507-288-6248 www.hoffmanmadsenpiano.com
    Mapleford Studio LLC

    Piano, Guitar, Voice

    Rochester 507-261-9930 www.MaplefordStudio.com
    Minnesota Conservatory for the Arts

    Brass, Piano, Violin, Cello, Guitar, Flute, Clarinet, Percussion, Voice

    Winona 507-453-5501 www.mnconservatoryforthearts.org
    Pure Rock Studios of Rochester

    Bass, Guitar, Drum,
    Keyboard, Vocals

    Rochester 507-258-5432 www.purerockstudiosmn.com
    Rochester Academy of Music

    Piano, Voice, Guitar, Woodwinds, Brass, Strings, Percussion

    Rochester 507-316-0732 www.RochesterAcademyofMusic.com
    Root River Guitar Studio

    Guitar Instruction: Suzuki,
    Classical, Jazz and Blues

    Rushford 507-9511-0327 www.goodguitarlessons.com
    Schmitt Music

    Bass, guitar, woodwinds, piano, violin, voice, theory Rochester 507-288-1960 www.schmittmusic.com/lessons