Private Music Instruction Directory

The Rochester Music Guild maintains this list of private music instructors as a community service. Teachers are listed by request only.
For changes and additions please contact directories@rochestermusicguild.org.

Music stores and studios are listed at the bottom of this page.
* RMG Member

BASS (Upright Bass)
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Blake Bonde Classical: All Levels (Electric or Jazz: Beg – HS/Adv) Rochester 612-963-6948 doublybassicb@gmail.com
Robert Gardner Beg – Adv, Acoustic & Electric Bass Rochester 507-259-0630 poverellop@charter.net
Stephen Pelkey Beg – Int Rochester 816-509-1483 spelkey1959@gmail.com
Michael Sloane Beg – HS, All styles Pine Island 507-356-2022 misloane@outlook.com

BASSOON
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Thea Groth, D.M.A. All levels Northfield, Rochester 507-301-8264 theabassoon@gmail.com
Ranveer Vasdev All levels and ages Rochester 507-250-1451 ranveer.vasdev@gmail.com
Angie Whitcomb Beg – Adv Rochester, Chatfield 507-358-6218 AngelaBWhitcomb@gmail.com

CELLO
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Sarah Burrington Beg – Int (including adults) Rochester 507-254-2221 sarahburrington@hotmail.com
Amy Crockett All ages: Beg – Int Rochester 507-287-1881 crockettsae@Hotmail.com
Carolyn Mead Ages 4-adult, all levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester 507-292-5975 cmead5975@gmail.com
Stephen Pelkey All levels Rochester 816-509-1483 spelkey1959@gmail.com

CLARINET
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Michelle Dina Beg – HS Rochester 651-280-0581 dina0008@umn.edu
Karen K. Hansen All levels St. Paul 612-710-2715 clarinet@karenkhansen.com
Diane Shopteau All ages & levels Rochester 507-226-5972 Tootflute@aol.com

COMPOSITION
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Brock Besse Beg – Adv Rochester 507-318-0801 bbesse@charter.net
Brian Dunbar HS – Adv Rochester 507-722-1815 brian@briandunbar.studio
Dr. David Kassler High School Rochester 507-281-3253 davidkassler7@gmail.com

FLUTE
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Emily Bodensteiner All ages & levels Rochester 507-398-2136 emilyann132@gmail.com
Amanda Peloquin All levels: Beg – Adv Rochester 715-225-7973 ampeloquin@gmail.com
Laurie Priniski Beg – Adv Rochester 507-282-8656 lapriniski@gmail.com
Irissa Ryant Flute/Piccolo: All levels & ages -Suzuki & Traditional Rochester 507-250-5737 irissajo@gmail.com
Tessa Sawchuk * All levels, all ages Rochester 507-884-7534 sawchuk@live.com
Diane Shopteau All ages & levels Rochester 507-226-5972 Tootflute@aol.com
Amy Unseth Flute/Piccolo: All ages & levels Rochester 507-993-9538 fluteteacheramy@gmail.com

FRENCH HORN
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Corey Henke * Beg – College Rochester 507-696-2023 chhornstudio@gmail.com
Shawn Kennedy-Lee Beg – HS Lewiston 507-313-1908 skennedylee@hotmail.com

GUITAR
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Robert Gardner Beg – Adv Rochester 507-259-0630 poverellop@charter.net
Ben Gateno, D.M.A.* Classical: All levels; Fingerstyle: All levels; Electric: All levels Rochester 507-884-7000 bgateno@hotmail.com
Kerry Klungtvedt Suzuki guitar, classical, jazz & blues, ages 3 – adult Rushford maestro@goodguitarlessons.com

HARP
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Brock Besse All ages: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-318-0801 bbesse@charter.net
Mary Schneekloth Suzuki and traditional Rochester 507-282-6474 maryschneekloth@yahoo.com

OBOE
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Brock Besse All ages: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-318-0801 bbesse@charter.net

ORGAN
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Lee Afdahl * Beg – Adv Rochester 507-282-1618 afdahl.lee@fpcrochester.org
Brock Besse All ages: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-318-0801 bbesse@charter.net
Karen Brekke Beg – Adv Byron 507-775-6339 eskyblue@msn.com

PERCUSSION
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Scott Kovar Drum Set, Band & Orchestra Percussion. Beg – Adv Rochester 507-285-4458 wskovar@gmail.com
Scott Ollhoff Beginner-Advanced Rochester 507-281-5410 saollhoff@charter.net
Ryan Utterback Beginner – Advanced Rochester 507-258-5432 ryan@purerockstudiosmn.com

PIANO
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Zoe Ann Abrahamson All ages & levels Rochester 507-884-4542 zoeaabrahamson@gmail.com
Christopher Alexander Beg – Int Rochester 507-281-5991 gotmusic529@gmail.com
Barbara Bartleson * All ages & levels, (Suzuki Method) Rochester 507-286-9230 bwbartleson@gmail.com
Ruth Benning Beg – Adv Rochester 507-281-4292 benningcr@juno.com
Karen Brekke Beg – Adv Byron 507-775-6339 eskyblue@msn.com
Sarah Carter-Sweatte Ages 5+, beginning to intermediate Rochester 507-215-4443 mssarahspianostudio@gmail.com
Colleen Clegg Beg – Int, especially adults Rochester 507-289-3913 cdcmusic@aol.com
Kristen Donovan Beg – Late Int, children & adults Zumbrota 507-732-5292 kdonovan514@gmail.com
Brian Dunbar All ages and levels Rochester 507-722-1815 brian@briandunbar.studio
Marta Fisk All ages & levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester, Wabasha 651-764-2219 martafisk@hotmail.com
Michelle Harris Beg – Late Int Rochester 507-292-9391 richandmichelleh@juno.com
Laurie Helmers * All levels & ages Stewartville 507-533-8265 helmers.laurie@gmail.com
Kathryn Horntvedt * All levels & ages Rochester 507-206-0521 khorntvedt@gmail.com
Chrissy Misso Age 3 & up – early Adv Rochester 507-722-1778 musicalladybug89@gmail.com
Jan Kvam Beg – Int Rochester 507-271-3091 rkvam@charter.net
Edna Mezacapa * Beginners Rochester 507-288-6259 musicmez@yahoo.com
Sara Monson Beg – Adv, classical or contemporary Rochester, Stewartville, Racine 507-358-1354 sarahmonsonmusic@gmail.com
Glenna Muir All ages & levels Rochester 507-202-4132 stracci64@aol.com
Dr. Horacio Nuguid Grades 9 – 12: Int – Adv Rochester 507-271-3742 horacionuguid@gmail.com
Rosanna Nuguid Pre-K to Grade 8: All levels Rochester 507-271-3914 rosannanuguid@gmail.com
Ann Peter Beg – Int, thru High School Rochester 507-281-4688 aepeter22@gmail.com
Jane Peterson All ages & levels, thru HS Cannon Falls 507-263-4148 janerichard@mchsi.com
Jennifer Popp Beg – Late Int Rochester 507-280-9451 jppianolady@gmail.com
Carol Prescher * All levels & ages Rochester, Wabasha 651-565-4712
Laurie Priniski Beg – Adv Rochester 507-282-8656 lapriniski@gmail.com
Tessa Sawchuk * All levels, all ages Rochester 507-884-7534 sawchuk@live.com
Dr. David Shaffer-Gottschalk * Int – Adv Classical, including adults Rochester 804-721-1577 shafgottpiano@hotmail.com
Teresa Tolmie K-12, all levels Rochester 507-273-9499 Teresa@TolmiePiano.com
Denise Voy Tompkin All ages & levels Rochester 507-398-7236 tompkindv@gmail.com
June Torrison Beg – Adv LeRoy 507-324-5463 torrison@mchsi.com
Ainhoa Urkijo Int – Adv, all ages Rochester 507-261-2069 urkijo10@hotmail.com
Basia VanderZanden All ages & levels Rochester, St. Charles 507-458-8142 basiavanderzanden@gmail.com
Karen Vinje All ages & levels Rochester 507-288-0973 klvinje@charter.net

SAXOPHONE
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Dr. Dwight L. Jennings * All levels Rochester 507-280-8633 DJenni8703@aol.com
Jennifer Popp Beginners Rochester 507-280-9451 jppianolady@gmail.com
Diane Shopteau All ages & levels Rochester 507-226-5972 Tootflute@aol.com
Angie Whitcomb Beg – Int Rochester, Chatfield 507-358-6218 AngelaBWhitcomb@gmail.com

TROMBONE
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Matt Hafar * Trombone/Brass: all ages Rochester 507 285-7121 matt.hafar@rctc.edu
Dr. David Kassler Trombone: all levels & ages Rochester 507-281-3253 davidkassler7@gmail.com
John Sievers Trombone: all ages Rochester 507-288-0590 siev0044@umn.edu

TRUMPET
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Warren Bandel All levels & ages Rochester 507-271-9911 trumpetone@charter.net
Suzy Johnson All levels & ages Rochester, Pine Island 507-356-8248 suzyj999@gmail.com
Ellis Workman Trumpet/Cornet – all levels Rochester 507-285-9707 EllisLWorkman@gmail.com

TUBA/EUPHONIUM
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Dr. David Kassler All levels & ages Rochester 507-281-3253 davidkassler7@gmail.com
Mark Woeste All levels Mantorville 507-635-5011 dwoeste@kmtel.com

VIOLIN/VIOLA
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Emily Blain Viola: all ages and levels; Violin: beginning to intermediate Rochester 605-370-8391 emilyjblain@gmail.com
James Buchan Violin/viola, chamber music, conducting Rochester 507-208-4145 buchanhk@hotmail.com
Ángel Falú-García Violin/viola – all levels Suzuki and Traditional Rochester 507-722-8792 afaluviolinstudio@gmail.com
Laura Geissler Violin: Beg-Int, Ages 4-middle school (Suzuki Method) Northfield 612-325-2766 lgeissler.lg@gmail.com
Charles Gray Violin/viola: Inter-Adv, middle school-college Northfield 612-598-2167 gray@stolaf.edu
Kathleen Lamb Violin/Viola: all ages & levels, Suzuki, traditional, & chamber music Rochester 715-307-3822 klambviolin@gmail.com
Kristina Lantz * Violin/Viola: all levels and all ages Rochester 612-801-4282 kristinajlantz@gmail.com
Timothy McClure * Violin: all ages and levels, Suzuki Method Rochester 540-353-9189 tim.mcclure17@gmail.com
Chrissy Misso Violin/Viola: Beg – Int Rochester 507-722-1778 musicalladybug89@gmail.com
Sarah Myhro Violin: Ages 5-adult, Beg – Int (classical, fiddle, gospel, ukulele) Rochester 507-280-9824 samyhro19@gmail.com
Sharon Neufeld Violin/Viola: All ages & levels, Suzuki, Chamber Music, Performance Ensembles Rochester 507-398-0141 TheSuzukiAcademy@gmail.com
Nancy Oliveros Violin and chamber music, Inter-Adv, middle school-college West St. Paul 651-238-4945 nancy@artaria.us
Stephen Pelkey Violin/Viola: Beg – Int Rochester 816-509-1483 knechtpelkey@gmail.com
Kailey Peterson Violin – Beginners ages 5-12 Byron 507-254-9229 peterson.kaileyliz@gmail.com
Sarah Rusin Violin/viola: all ages & levels, traditional & Suzuki Rochester 815-505-0345 sacrusin@gmail.com
Ray Shows Violin and chamber music, Inter-Adv, middle school-college West St. Paul 651-587-7595 shows@stolaf.edu
DeAnn Spencer * Violin: ages 3-18, all levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester 507-285-0970 deann.spencer@gmail.com
Linda Thompson * Violin/viola: ages 3-18, all levels (Suzuki Method) Rochester  507-289-4575 lindakwthompson@gmail.com
Julie Workman Violin/viola: All levels Rochester 507-285-9707 julie.workman.jlg@gmail.com

VOICE
Name Level, Focus City Phone Email
Pat Anderson Ages 13 and up Rochester 507-281-5934 musicmaker1247@gmail.com
Kristen Donovan Ages 7-adult Zumbrota 507-732-5292 kdonovan514@gmail.com
Carla Thelen Hanson Int – Adv Rochester 507-990-2854 carla.thelen.hanson@gmail.com
Laurie Helmers * All levels and all ages Stewartville 507-533-8265 helmers.laurie@gmail.com
Dr. David Kassler Ages 13 & up: Beg – Adv Rochester 507-281-3253 davidkassler7@gmail.com
Connie Maragos 9th grade & older Rochester 507-288-3379 nmcm55@gmail.com
Laura Matern * Classical voice; Beg – Adv Rochester 507-536-7097 matern@charter.net
Chrissy Misso Ages 7 and up; Beg – Adv Int Rochester 507-259-7384 musicalladybug89@gmail.com

MUSIC STORES & STUDIOS
Name Music Instruction City Phone Website
All Things Musik:
Music Lessons in Your Home
Piano Rochester 507-263-1717 www.allthingsmusik.com
Allegro School of Dance & Music Brass, guitar, piano,
voice, woodwinds
Rochester 507-288-0125 www.AllegroDanceMusic.com
Artaria Chamber Music School (ACMS) Inter-Adv Strings, middle school-college St. Paul 651-238-4945 www.artaria-cms.org
Ben Gateno Studio Guitar: Classical, Fingerstyle, Electric Rochester 507-884-7000 bgateno@hotmail.com
Chrissy’s Studio piano, violin, viola, voice, ukelele Rochester 507-722-1778 www.chrissysstudio.mymusicstaff.com
Brian Dunbar Studio composition, piano, music technology & recording Rochester 507-722-1815 www.briandunbar.studio
Carpet Booth Studios voice, guitar, piano, song writing, and music technology Rochester 507-244-0540 www.carpetbooth.com
Mapleford Studio LLC Piano, Guitar, Voice Rochester 507-261-9930 www.MaplefordStudio.com
Minnesota Conservatory for the Arts Brass, Piano, Violin, Cello, Guitar, Flute, Clarinet, Percussion, Voice Winona 507-453-5501 www.mnconservatoryforthearts.org
Pure Rock Studios of Rochester Banjo, Bass, Guitar, Drum, Trumpet,
Keyboard, Mandolin, Ukelele, Vocals
Rochester 507-258-5432 www.purerockstudiosmn.com
Rochester Academy of Music Piano, Voice, Guitar, Woodwinds, Brass, Strings, Percussion Rochester 507-316-0732 www.RochesterAcademyofMusic.com
Root River Guitar Studio Guitar Instruction: Suzuki,
Classical, Jazz and Blues
Rushford 507-9511-0327 www.goodguitarlessons.com
Schmitt Music Bass, guitar, woodwinds, piano, violin, voice, theory Rochester 507-288-1960 www.schmittmusic.com/lessons